Back to News

District Celebrates Award-Winning Schools

District’s Forest Hill and Marshall Lane elementary schools receive California Distinguished School awards.

four smiling people standing; two with awards

Campbell Union School District’s Forest Hill and Marshall Lane elementary schools are recipients of the 2018 California Distinguished School award. Pictured, left to right, are District Superintendent Shelly Viramontez, Forest Hill Principal Denise Khalid, Marshall Lane Principal Priscilla Spencer, and Board President Tom Gemetti at the school district’s annual recognition event

“The teams from these two schools—which includes staff, students and parents—have demonstrated their commitment to academic achievement,” said Governing Board President Tom Gemetti. “They apply their creativity, resources and talents toward providing students with a great school experience.”

The California Distinguished School Program recognizes elementary and middle and high schools in alternate years, which means awardees hold the title for two years. Schools that applied were eligible based on their performance and progress on the state indicators as described on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and English learner progress.

Forest Hill Team at State Awards eventMarshall Lane team at State Awards event

The school teams received their state-level awards from the State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson (center) at a ceremony in Anaheim this month.